Friday, February 21, 2014

The Truth About Renewing Your Massachusetts CSL

This post was originally published by LeadSMART Training Solutions:

Massachusetts contractor supervisor license renewal continuing education CSL
There are a lot of myths out there about renewing your Construction Supervisor's License (CSL) in Massachusetts. Hopefully this will clear some of them up and give you the leg up!

Question: I heard my CSL renewal form had to be in to the state 60 days before my license expires.
Truth
: You have a one-year “grace” period to renew after your expiration date without penalty.
However, you will not have a valid license when your license does expire. The grace period mentioned only provides relief should you have missed or forgotten to renew it.

Question: So is it 2 years or 3 years to renew?
Truth
: You have 2 years to renew your license to maintain a current status and be able to apply for building permits and stand inspections. If you are into the “grace” period you cannot submit building permit applications or stand inspections.

Question: Can I take the continuing education course while my license is expiring?
Truth
: Sure! You will receive your certificate from LeadSMART on the second day of class and you will make a copy of the cert and attach it to your renewal application you send into the state. There is a 4-6 week turnaround with the state. You can bid on jobs in the interim, but you cannot pull permits once your license expires.

Question: If I let my CSL expire can I work?
Truth
: You can always perform your work but it will be needed for a site to be inspected by a building official. The inspection will not happen without a permit in place. If you were working for a CSL, then he/she would be the responsible party to the permit inspection.

Question: I just renewed my license. Can I carry over extra CEU points for my next renewal?
Truth
: Yes, but only if you didn’t use any part of them towards the prior renewal. Meaning, if you have a certificate with 8 CEUs and you used only 2, then you CANNOT use a portion of a certificate for future use. HOWEVER, if you have a certificate for 8 CEUs and did not need to use them at all for this renewal, then YES you can use this entire CEU certificate towards your next renewal.

Question: My license has been expired for a year. Do I have to retake the test?
Truth
: No. After one year the fine is $100 to renew. After two years, you will need to re-test and pay the additional fine.

Question: Can I use any class I take to fulfill CEU points?
Truth
: No. Only BBRS approved courses, like those at LeadSMART, will be accepted by the Dept. of Public Safety for license renewal.

Question: How do I know if my class is approved?
Truth
: There should be a CS# on your certification. Go to the BBRS website and confirm the number is approved.

Question: How do I get the application to renew?
Truth
: You should receive one from the state approximately 60 days prior to its expiration. However, there are many reasons why you may not receive one (you have moved and failed to notify BBRS, you changed your email and failed to notify BBRS, etc). It is up to you to be proactive and contact the state:

Kim Spencer
Dept. of Public Safety
617-826-5236
kimberly.spencer@state.ma.us

Remember to provide: 1) CSL Number, 2) Current Address and 3) Current email address (if available)

Question: Should I just mail my application and proof of class in to the state?
Truth
: No. This is your livelihood. Make copies and pay the extra few bucks to send it certified mail, return receipt requested. And sleep well knowing you are all set!
What do I need?
Depending on your license, you require the following total hours:
You need to attend at least one hour of Continuing Education Unit (CEU) in each of the five mandatory topics. Once you have one hour (CEU) in each category you can fill in the remaining amounts as you wish using other electives or by having more hours in any subject.

What are the required topics? According to 780 CMR- eight edition, 110.R5.4.3, (this is the MA CODE) here are the topics:
  • Code Review - one hour
  • Workplace Safety - one hour
  • Business Practices/Workers Compensation - one hour
  • Energy (except Demolition Specialty License) - one hour
  • Lead Safe Practices (only first renewal cycle) - one hour
The information above was obtained right from the BBRS website – for information as to where to purchase your required books, go to: Code Books

View the upcoming schedule for Massachusetts-approved CEU courses at http://www.greenedu.com/leadsmart. Several of LeadSMART's OSHA and RRP classes also contain CEU’s which have been approved by BBRS and can be applied to your requirements.

About LeadSMART
LeadSMART Training is different. We're contractors training contractors for EPA certification in Lead-Safe Renovating. We are renovators, remodelers, painters...we've been in the field, on the job and know how important this stuff is to protect yourself, your family, your customers and your business. We've been using these techniques on our own jobs for ten years. We can show you how to work this law on your sites without losing everything you have worked so hard for.