Monday, November 10, 2014

Renewing Your Lead Safe Renovator Certification: A Breakdown of EPA and State Requirements

EPA's Lead Renovation, Repair and Painting Rule (RRP Rule) requires that firms performing renovation, repair, and painting projects that disturb lead-based paint in homes, child care facilities and pre-schools built before 1978 have their firm certified by EPA (or an EPA authorized state), use certified renovators who are trained by EPA-approved training providers and follow lead-safe work practices. The initial training is a 1-day course, and a 4-hour refresher course is required every five years. Since the EPA law was enacted in April 2010, many professionals are reaching the five year mark for their renewal. Below is more information on the requirements to stay in compliance.


EPA Lead Renovator Renewal Requirements

To re-certify as an EPA Lead Renovator and EPA Lead-Safe Firm:
  • Attend a 4-hour Refresher course within 5 years from the initial course date
  • Submit a firm application and $300 company re-certification fee to the EPA every 5 years*
It is recommended that you submit your EPA Firm Re-certification Application at least 90 days in advance of your expiration date to avoid any gaps in your firm certification. You can complete this application online for faster processing.

**UPDATED APRIL 2015: The EPA has issued an extension for some Certified Lead Renovators to complete the 4-hour refresher training.  If the initial course was take prior to March 31, 2010, the refresher training must be completed by March 31, 2016. If the initial training was completed between April 1, 2010 - March 31, 2011, individuals have a one year grace period to take the refresher course, based on their original expiration date. There is NO extension for EPA firm re-certification.


EPA-Authorized State Programs

Thirteen states operate under their own lead safe certification program in lieu of the EPA federal
program, and therefore have different renewal requirements.

Below is a list of these EPA-Authorized States and the renewal requirements for each:

EPA-Authorized State Individual Training Renewal Period Individual Renewal Fee Company Renewal Period Company Renewal Fee Refresher
Training Schedule
Alabama 3 Years $100 Annual Fee Annually $300 View Courses
Delaware 2 Years $100 Fee Every 2 Years 2 Years $100 View Courses
Georgia 3 Years $150 Fee Every 3 Years 1 Year or 3 Years $125 for 1 Year, or $300 for 3 Years View Courses
Iowa 3 Years $60 Annual Fee Registration Required No fee View Courses
Kansas 5 Years Registration Required, No Fee 5 Years $100 for Renewal ($200 for Initial) View Courses
Massachusetts 5 Years** No Fee 5 Years $375 View Courses
Mississippi 3 Years 1st & 2nd Renovator at the company are free, $75pp annually after. Annually $350 View Courses
North Carolina 5 Years Registration Required, No Fee Annually $300 View Courses
Oklahoma 5 Years No Fee 5 Years $300 View Courses
Oregon 5 Years No Fee 5 Years $50 - $250 View Courses
Rhode Island 5 Years $40 Every 5 Years 5 Years $40 View Courses
Utah 5 Years $200 Annual Fee Annually $250 View Courses
Washington 5 Years* $25 Every 3 Years 5 Years $25 View Courses
Wisconsin 4 Years $50 Every 2 Years 2 Years $50 View Courses
*State recognizes EPA extension for renewal.
**State allows a 1-year grace period from your training expiration date, but no RRP work may be performed until re-trained and re-certified.

For more information on renewing your Lead Renovator Certification, visit https://www.greenedu.com/epa-lead-paint-rrp-refresher-overview. For a full line-up of RRP initial and refresher courses, be sure to visit GreenEdu.com.